Yummy and relatively simple Tomato Red Lentil Soup

Recipie #1

Yummy and relatively simple Tomato Red Lentil Soup

A beautiful fall day that begins and ends with cool temps, but still warms up to a comfortable temp during the day is always a hint that winter is coming.  Today a couple of hours before yoga I wanted to have some dinner in my belly. Nothing heavy since yoga with a 15-minute bike rides before and after is coming. I wanted to have soup ready before my husband was home and easy to grab since he only had 15 minutes to scarf it down and run off to volleyball. That’s his sport, and he will never part from it, even if he has to rush though dinner and practice till late in the evening.

A recipe perfect for fall, and the cooling weather that warms up the tummy. With this easy soup of my spontaneous creation, you can rest assure its healthy and delicious. It only takes about 10 minutes to prep and 20-30 to cook. Of course like with most soups, the longer it sits on simmer the more flavor comes out.

I started with the red lentils. They are quite easy to cook for a bean and take only 15 minutes. You just rinse them till the foggy water is gone and then follow the cooking directions on the package. Mine said 1 cup of beans to 2 cups water. Boil the water and with open lid cook the beans. It takes about 15 minutes for the beans to become soft and the water to disappear. I cooked it for 12 then started throwing in the main pieces to my puzzle.

I first put in 1 cup of water to be my base. It is also decent with 2 cups, depending on how you life your soup. You can use vegetable broth or chicken broth. Whatever you like as a base. I typically use water and throw in spices like crazy to give the soup it yumminess. Then I placed in an organic can of crushed tomatoes. Stirred it till the beans and tomatoes and water were evenly mixed.

Now for the flavor and spices that I used in the soup. First make sure the heat is turned down to medium. I used yellow curry (about 2 tablespoons), salt a pinch or to taste with a bit of ground pepper. Then I used 1-teaspoon chili powder and 1-teaspoon cayenne pepper to warm everything up. The next yumminess I added was fresh basil chopped to pieces. I find with the curry and chili, that it’s a great way to counter act the cooling temps, by warming yourself from the inside out keeping you warm and strong through the changing of the season.

The fresh ingredients I added to the soup last in order maintain the freshness and heartiness of them. You may want to prepare before hand to reduce stress. I chopped a small onion, three tomatoes, and one red bell pepper. As I said, I like to keep the vegies alive a bit to maintain the richness of them and some of the vitamins so I add them last.  Then for a final touch I added one tablespoon of sour cream to make it a bit creamier and flavorful. After everything is in I let it simmer for about 10 -30 minutes. I enjoyed it while the onions were still fresh.

This is your soup and the beauty of it is that you can add subtract whatever you want. For example it is nice to add, mushrooms, zucchini, or pineapple (if you want to be crazy). Soups are so easy to do and you can keep the leftovers for lunch the next day. Sometimes my husband has to have his meat for the week and to add a bit of flavor to any soup I sometimes add some finely chopped bacon. This of course goes for any soup. It is a great way to add salt naturally and make the husband happy.

 Ingredients:

Red lentils                  1 cup, with two cups water to cook

Water                         1-2 cups you can use veggie broth/chicken broth

Crushed tomatoes       1 can organic

Fresh Basil                   1/3 cup chopped

Yellow Curry                2 tablespoons

Chili powder                1 teaspoon

Cayenne Pepper          1 teaspoon

1 small onion              chopped

1 red bell pepper         chopped

3 ripe tomatoes           chopped

Sour cream                  1 tablespoon

If you liked this yummy creation please let me know. If you added something or found it better without something let me just add a comment. I am curious to know what the critics think. I am always up for trying new things. Who knows maybe you added the pineapple…lol.

Leave a Reply

